//
you're reading...
People

Nonsense – 3

Spice is the variety of life. This was amply established when Spice Jet took to skies. It offered an alternative to flyers.

DillBut did you know that their planes were actually named after spices? This story is about the time I travelled in the plane named Dill.

headphoneTravelling from Bangalore to Mumbai on one fine Friday evening, I was unfortunate to be in a flying stack over Mumbai. My neighbour, a young chap in orange pants and a Sennheiser HD800 over his ears was rocking his head to some tune and it spoke volumes about him.

We had been going around for nearly half an hour in formation in the skies. I was reminded about the song from Deep Purple Pink Floyd – Time – ‘So you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it’s sinking, Racing around to come up behind you again’.

My neighbour was getting increasingly fidgety. He had removed his expensive head-gear and was given to vocalizing. I learnt that his name was Ranbir and he was scheduled to attend some glittering Bollywood party that evening. I now understood the orange pants and the fluorescent green shoes with electric blue laces – the same colour that gave headaches to my boss when I dared to wear such a shirt some days. I sensed a whirl in my mind similar to one I had when I was 10 and the doctor had whipped out a hypodermic syringe to embed it on my left posterior with an intent to cure by whooping cough.

The public address system crackled and the voice of the pilot came through and announce that we were now at the bottom of the stack and about to be given a go ahead to start landing. Ranbir went gaga over the same while I was relieved.

Suddenly his vocalization increased and he started singing – ‘Bottom is Dill, Bottom is Dill, man o man’

I never knew any one could be so happy. I also realized that there was at least one more who knew the plane was named Dill.

The next morning I realized what Ranbir was singing. Turned out the earlier evening a movie was released – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani.  – he was actually singing – ‘Arrogant is my heart’

Ah! the bane of listening in one language using the ear and thinking in another language!

 

Discussion

One thought on “Nonsense – 3

  1. Courtesy a keen eyed friend of mine from the east the colour changed from deep purple to pink floyd….

    Posted by eswarann | August 18, 2014, 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers

