//
you're reading...
Poem

The Ferryman – O मांझी

From this side to the other
I row, I row, for no one
They ask “Why bother?”
I am all alone

maji-aA time there was
With a score I traveled there and back
But now alas,
It is all lull and slack

They have built the bridge down there
People are in a tear and hurry
I have lost all the fare
Perhaps it is time to bury

What can I do to live and be warm?
Maybe I can chop this and burn it
Or sell it to the yonder farm
And by this bank I can sit

 

I know nothing else
That I can do
Till the man above tells
It is time for me too

From this side to the other
I row, I row, for no one

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The Ferryman – O मांझी

  1. Its definitely gets scary as, we approach mid life as, we have extra responsibility of family and kids and we need to balance the same with technical/professional growth.

    Am struggling to find the middle path

    Posted by Gaurav Anand | July 29, 2014, 1:18 pm
  2. Yes sometimes it does

    Posted by eswarann | July 29, 2014, 1:43 pm
  3. Sir, Language… has created the word loneliness to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word solitude to express the glory of being alone, Pray that your loneliness may spur you into finding something to live for, great enough to die for. It has been beautifully penned down – good read.

    Posted by Savita Malhotra | July 29, 2014, 2:36 pm
  4. One thing that is a key differentiator between living & non living things is – Ability to improvise with time & situation. Believe in it !!

    Posted by NAGENDRA GUPTA | July 29, 2014, 2:46 pm
  5. good read.Forces you to contemplate on higher things in life.

    Posted by subbu | July 29, 2014, 2:54 pm
  6. To repair, renew and rebound we must be able to adapt, adopt and be adept.

    Posted by eswarann | July 30, 2014, 4:27 pm
  7. Am exactly in this phase of life. Planning to get back to work. Dont know where i will be and how i will survive. 3rd innings in my life. Hope i manage to get there.

    Posted by quibble | July 30, 2014, 10:19 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Is it the eye of the beholder or is it the ‘I’ of the beholder? | A Ra News - July 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

