//
you're reading...
Absurd

Managing a Masala Dosai at Mylapore

I could have as well titled this post as ‘Podger purchases Paan at Patna’ or ‘Picking up Poirot at Podanur’. It is this pathological obsession with alliterations that sometimes pulls me away from the intended plan of penning a decent piece of prose or poetry as promised.

Of late posting poems in my blog presents a particular problem of intense irritations as I struggle to reasonable rhyme my verse. So I often title the post last. In fact it is the action just before I push the blue button titled ‘publish’.

I am sure there are many amongst us, who like the famous verse in ‘Sound of Music’ begin at the very beginning. However I like to lag to the last always late and perhaps in the process be the latest. I wonder whether the world will term this as Eswaran’s Literary Device. That would be too much to hope for. I can have a law, formula, or even folly named after me but not a literary device. That would probably lead to myocardial infarction to the upholders of the purity of English language. You did not know that? This is a small body of people are tucked away in a deep forest near Ebbsfleet. You can only travel to the place using Floo powder or portkey. They decide how English will be spoken by all and sundry across the world. If you aberrate then you will be disapparated to the Andromeda.

The fact remains however that a masala dosai in Mylapore is a very good experience depending on of course when and where you go to wolf down the dosai. A masala dosai on the Indian Independence Day in August with onion chutney, coconut chutney and coriander chutney with blueberry jam over the coconut chutney would be considered by many as the most telling example of patriotism. Actually it tastes just as good on any other day as well. Have it with millagai podi – a very spicy accompaniment for the uninitiated – and a good filter coffee to wash it down. I think I will do just that and I am sure I would be cured of this obsession with alliterations.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Managing a Masala Dosai at Mylapore

  1. A masala meduvada at Mylapore might be even better! If it is expensive, reference could be made to Mammon’s munificent mullagapodi!

    Posted by G Krishnamurthy | August 25, 2012, 3:14 am
  2. Hmmm… “millagai podi”, now would that be what we used to call “gunpowder”? Haven’t had a chance to savour that lately. Sigh! One more item to add to the ever expanding weekend to-do list.

    Posted by Sandeep Dhar | August 26, 2012, 2:52 pm
  3. I am heading to Karpagambal Mess when I am in Madras next.

    Posted by Radha | August 27, 2012, 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers

