//
you're reading...
On Learning

Oh! for a new language

I came upon the IT world learning COBOL in theory. BASIC through Academics, Fortran by practice. VB on the job to some extent. Like natural languages I can understand C and Java. Some experiments with Ruby ( not ROR ). That summarises the languages I know. But then wikipedia list at least 500 + languages. Some archaic some very specfic. Do languages die? I do not think so.  I have had opportunities to learn and understand, for specfic purposes though, Assembler, LANSA, TPF, JCL, Pascal, Scripting Languages, ABAL and some more esoteric than what I have listed.

Yet, I yearn for a nice, cool language. The thrill to learn something new, write some favourite programs in the langauge is still fascinating. ‘Cows and Bulls’, and a few number theory based programs are my favourites.

Ruby seemed fascinating, but somehow I lost interest in the same. IDE seems to be one fundamental charateristic for a nice cool language. Oh! for a new language.

Discussion

One thought on “Oh! for a new language

  1. Check PHP

    Posted by setandbma | April 7, 2009, 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers

